Our first time:Geocaching

Last night I was supposed to run 7 miles, but I didn’t. Other things came up, like, geocaching!!

Carly asked what geocaching is? Here is what the geocache website says;

“Geocaching is a high-tech treasure hunting game played throughout the world by adventure seekers equipped with GPS devices. The basic idea is to locate hidden containers, called geocaches, outdoors and then share your experiences online. Geocaching is enjoyed by people from all age groups, with a strong sense of community and support for the environment. Search for a geocache below or learn more about getting started.”

I was so anxious to start geocaching I found one that was .3mi from our house. Super cool that it was within walking distance from our house. I told Chris to get a flash light and lets go geocaching. I was WAY more excited then him about this!

I downloaded the free app on my iPhone and we got to walking. I kind of felt like we were cheating because it shows us the exact path from our house to the cache, but it was still fun. I don’t know how else you would find it you didn’t have something.


This isn’t the one we found last night, but I did try to find this one on my way home from work.. No luck, although I didn’t look very hard. I felt like an idiot walking around out there. I’ll wait for Chris so he can look stupid too, ha!

I am kind of curious how the GPS on my iPhone will work in the woods? It’s going to be a problem if we ever venture to places where I don’t have service. I do have a garmin for my car, so maybe that will work in non-iPhone friendly areas. Anyone have any experience with this? If you geocache, what type of GPS do you use? Chris is not about to throw down any money on this game, so what I have better work. 😉

Hey iPhone picture, you’re not great quality. Thanks though.  When Chris saw the bottle he first thought it was a fly trap so we didn’t pay attention to it. Then I looked at it and we realized that the container was what we were looking for, YAY!

It had a green coin in it that said something about luck, and it had the “log” that you sign your name to.

According to the log this cache has been there since 2007!!! Cool!

Alright, let’s talk about something running related, that hasn’t happened lately. Tonight I wanted to make up my run from last night. I got home around 5 and decided that I would tackle 5 miles outside. If I went for 7 it would be dark, and I don’t do running in the dark with no street lights.

My legs are more sore today from Jillian’s 30 Day Shred then they were  on Wednesday, so this run was a little slower then I wanted. I’m still happy with the sub-9 pace, I’ll never whine about that 🙂  Tomorrow on the running schedule is an easy 2 miles, maybe I’ll bump it up to three. Saturday is scheduled for 10 miles, AH! My first 10 mile run since the half-marathon in November. A little nervous to have a double-digit run. Hoping the hip holds up nicely!

Happy Thursday Y’all! One more day ’til the weekend!

6 thoughts on “Our first time:Geocaching

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Our first time:Geocaching | Life is Beachy Keene -- Topsy.com

  2. Hmm – geocaching sounds like quite the activity. Who exactly puts out these objects that you find?

    Looks like you had a good run too! Yay for that 😀

  3. That looks like fun! I was looking at geocaching in our area a while back but never followed through. According to the site we have a few spots under 2 miles from our house…although it is all covered in snow right now!

Say what you wanna say

