Say What?

So, It’s February 1st. The first day of February, the perfect day to start a new work out routine, right?

I keep telling myself I am going to start Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred any time now. I just keep putting it off. Today I am feeling extra crappy about myself. My face is broke out like a teenage boy going through puberty, and I’m feeling supah bloated.

Apparently this is the motivation I needed on this first day of February. I came home after work, put dinner on the stove then did Day 1 Level 1 of Jillian’s 30 DS. I’ve attempted this video before, but my knee flared up and I was not able to do any of the moves that required bending or squatting. I pretty much gave up. I did do it long enough to see some results so I know it’s possible to see results. That is the part I’m excited about. Honestly, I do not enjoy working out in my living room. I feel incredibly stupid.

I really do want to stick with this work out, I think I can, I think I can,  I think I can.

I wore my Garmin with my heart rate monitor to see my HR and to see how many calories I burned. I surely hope I didn’t something wrong with the Garmin because it said I only burned 14 calories. That can’t be right, can it? It said my AVG HR was 134, and my max was 161, the workout is 20 minutes long. If that is in any way correct I’m kind of wondering why I am even doing this workout?? HELP. I was wearing the chest strap, I could see my HR was registering the whole time. The one thing that I did not do was turn off the GPS, so I’m hoping that is the solution to my problem. Suggestions?

One thing I learned from my first day of Jillian Michaels- I have zero upper body strength. zero. It’s rather pathetic actually.

For dinner we had this really yummy Soul Searing Vegetable Soup that I found on Running Around Normal.  It was seriously SO good. We tried brussel sprouts a while back and we were not thrilled with them. This soup calls for brussel sprouts and they were really delicious.  It also uses cauliflower which we never eat and I really don’t know if I like it since we never eat it, but it was tasty in this soup.

2 c. low sodium veggie broth  I used 2 cans of broth & 3 cans of water

1.5 c. brussells sprouts, halved   1.38lbs, that’s how it was sold @ the grocery store- if it didn’t get used here, it might get wasted

3 carrots, cut into 1” thick slices   4 carrots, it was the rest of the pack

2 celery stalks, cut into 1” thick slices   3 stalks, 2 didn’t seem like enough

2 garlic cloves, diced   I hate chopping garlic, so we didn’t have any

1 c. cauliflower  I used a head of cauliflower, I couldn’t find it sold any other way than a head

1/2 onion, sliced I used a very small yellow onion

1/2 can of tomato paste  3/4 can

1/2 tsp oregano  oops, forgot

small handful fresh basil    didn’t have any

1/2 tsp red pepper flakes nope

salt and pepper   nope

1 can of black beans, drained and rinsed nope —– I added turkey sausage.. Yah, not even close to the same as black beans, but Chris likes some meat so I threw that in for him. Winking smile

Oh yah, and I added zucchini, because I had it and it was on the verge of going bad.

Paige has pictures of the soup on her blog, they are much prettier than any picture I could ever take, so shoot over there and check them out!

I’ve also been really trying to get more water into my daily diet. I’ve really been slacking and drinking more coffee than water, and that is totally not a habit that I need to get into!

Tomorrow my scheduled run is 7 miles. Woot! I’m actually kind of excited to get out and run tomorrow. Not sure that I’ll be able to get it done outside, so I may end up on the treadmill. Hopefully I can get it done successfully. I’m a little curious how sore my legs are going to be from the butt-kicking that JM gave me in my living room?!

Look at this cute puppy staring at me. This is his, “MOM! I need WANT to go outside, NOW!” face. First he stands by the door and spins in circles to get our attention, then if we don’t let him out right away he’ll come stare at you.

021022023

LET ME OUT WOMAN!

Happy Tuesday Ya’ll!

8 thoughts on “Say What?

  1. I can’t figure out how to get my Garmin to work as a HRM either unless I’m running outside with it or on the bike. So annoying. I *think* it is able to do that though.

    Good luck with your 7 miles later!

  2. I’m with Brit on the Garmin. I tried to use it as a HRM once and it kept shutting off on me.

    I’m having the same problem with me coffee:water ratio. The coffee pot is much closer than the water fountain in my office.

Say what you wanna say

