Thanks to you

Twitter peeps, I made it through my 8 mile run. I only almost got blown over by the wind once. Okay, fine, I didn’t really but it was pretty windy out there.

After much whining via twitter, and some encouragement from my twitter friends I got my running clothes on and went outside for my mid-week long run.

twitter_whine

Then some encouragement:

twitter_response

Isn’t Twitter grand? I also got lots of good lucks on my blog this morning when I wrote about trying to tackle that 8 miles on the treadmill.

I have, like, the greatest boss ever. He told me I could go home early, like, really early. Those were his words, not mine. Originally I felt a little guilty about leaving working any earlier than 4. Then I figured out that if I left @ 3:30 I could be home by 3:50 and out the door on my run a little by 4. SCORE! No treadmill after all rocks my socks. {actually my toes are a little sore after that run}.

8_miles_week_day_run

I initially went out in a long sleeve shirt and I covered my watch, which was nice. I didn’t look at it at all for the first 3.5 miles. I just ran at a pace that was comfortable to me. I was pleasantly surprised to see 8:30’s!  I came home for a few minutes at mile 3.5 because my stomach was protesting. I changed into a short sleeve shirt and was on the run again.

The wind was pretty strong. It was worse in some places than others. The last 2 miles were absolutely brutal, I am really surprised to see 8:17 for the last two miles.

I had to stop and stretch a few times. I kept getting this killer side pain that would only stop if I stopped, slowed my breathing down, and stretched. annoying. 

I did not feel any hip soreness during my run, but once I cooled down and started doing things around the house  I had some soreness. ick.

I am actually a little bit excited about the Gasparilla 15k right now. If I maintain that pace for the race I will definitely be able to PR.

 

I didn’t do a plankathon challenge tonight, I will be back at it tomorrow night. Check out Carolyn, she did a video, a partial video. She had some technical difficulties. She’ll be back tomorrow with a full video.

 

I was totally famished when I got home from my run. I made a bowl of yogurt, granola & blueberries. That lasted for about 5 minutes then I had a banana. I made a super delicious dinner tonight. It was supposed to be Sausage,Potato, Onion & Pepper bake. Well, I didn’t have any peppers so I had to improvise; I used zucchini, onions, mushrooms & potatoes for my “veggies” instead.

 

I’m watching Dog the Bounty Hunter’s 200th episode, I love this show. I think he has a great story and it’s totally awesome what they do. What’s your favorite reality show?

 

Happy Wednesday Ya’ll

9 thoughts on “Thanks to you

  1. Whoo hoo for getting your run in outside! And great pace!

    I am NOT a fan of Dog the Bounty Hunter, for some reason it annoys me, although the South Park spoof on it is hilarious. I’m cynical like that…

    But I’m not much of a reality TV watcher…something to do with the fact we only have 22 channels, none of which have much reality TV!

  2. Way to rock your 8 miles! I’m jealous of that pace; you are so speedy 🙂 I am socially out of the loop because I hardly watch any reality shows. Does Iron Chef count??

    • I was super stoked about that pace! I am almost embarassed at the amount of reality tv shows I watch. It’s the only thing that’s ever on..yah, not really, but thats my story and I’m stickin’ to it! There are some pretty interesting ones on A&E (Storage Wars), and there is a Pawn Shop one that is pretty cool. I don’t just like trashy ones, I like them all. That makes it okay, right? 😉

      • Haha – I think that must make it ok! This reminds me that sometimes the H and I also watch that treasure/junk hunters show where they stop at old buildings, barns, etc and try to find valuable antiques. That probably makes no sense, but you know what I’m talking about, right?? 🙂

      • YES! We also love that show! They have marathons of that show on the weekend, well, they did last weekend. Chris & I sat there for a good little bit and watched that show. Those are the good kind of reality TV shows that we like, and that chris will tolerate for longer then 2 seconds.

    • Don’t be jealous, just keep working at it. Trust me, that speed does not come naturally or easily for me. I was really working to maintain that speed last night. I’m much more comfortable around 9:30ish.

  3. Way to go on the run!

    I love the nerdy reality TV shows. The hubs and I are super excited to see that Top Shot is starting up again soon. Add to the list Swamp People, Billy the Exterminator, Axe Men, Pawn Stars and any other ones that happen to catch our eye.

Say what you wanna say

