On a Wednesday?

Good Morning blog friends!

I was looking at my training schedule this morning as I was rushing out the door for work. Guess what I saw. 8 miles on Wednesday? what??

Last week I did 7 miles on the treadmill and that was pushing it. 8 miles on the treadmill, oh dear. My schedule this week is:

Mon – 2
Tues – Rest
Wed- 8
Thur – 2 or 3, I forget.
Fri- Rest
Sat- 9
Sun-Rest

So, my question is, Are mid-week long runs important to you?

Running 8 miles in my neighborhood is quite a challenge. It requires me to run up and down a lot of various roads, none of which have street lights or sidewalks. Oh, and pedestrians around here, not respected, so it’s kinda scary running in the road in the daylight.   Okay, so I could do 8 miles on the treadmill, but what about in two weeks when the schedule says 10 miles on a Wednesday? WHO CAME UP WITH THIS TRAINING PLAN? 

My other concern about 2 long runs in one week, my hip. What if it is not ready to tackle those distances in the same week? During yesterdays run I was feeling some soreness starting around mile 6.5 – It was tolerable and it was no where near as painful as it has been in the past few weeks. However, it was present. 

So, I think I need to modify this plan. I think I will with mid-week runs at 7 miles. This is attainable on the treadmill, and in my book, still counts as a kinda sorta, but not really long run.

source

Oh, one more question; How do you get your daily vegetables and fruits?

I drank some orange juice this morning and I have a banana, apple, and yogurt with blueberries for snacks today. I googled and found out that juice only counts if its 100% juice, but that it contains more calories than just a regular orange.
You will never find me just chowing down on an orange, GROSS. The pulp makes me want to throw up, and I get sores on my gums if I eat straight oranges(or any citrus), ick.

I will eat almost anything but fruit textures weird me out. Watermelon, not happening. Strawberries, you must be kidding me. Straight peaches, ew furryness.  Suggestions?

I have a busy day today, yay! I’m genuinly excited about being busy.

Happy Monday Ya’ll

9 thoughts on “On a Wednesday?

  1. Your training schedule and the two long-ish runs in one week got me thinking about the whole 7-day training schedule in general. On one hand, it is nice to have the different elements of a training plan align with specific days of the week, but on the other hand it might make more sense to schedule in 10-day blocks so you could have a long run every 5-days or something which seems like a good amount of time between them. I dunno…just rambling…

  2. Confessing right here, right now that I don’t actually *have* a schedule. I aim to run 4 days a week. Daily mileage highly depends on when I’m running (morning or evening), the hubby’s work schedule (he works shiftwork) and how much time I have. Six miles is my limit during the week and that can require being out of bed by 3:45 a.m.

    I stick with my long run mileage on the weekends and just build the rest of my week around whatever works for me. Of course this is why I’m a wannabe runner. 🙂

    As for fruit, how about smoothies? You could get a couple of servings in at a time. I happen to LOVE most fruit raw. I actually think I might eat too much…is that possible?

    • I don’t think there is anything wrong w/ not having an “actual” schedule. Sometimes having a schedule is incredibly inconvenient. It just hangs on the fridge nagging me all week long to do what it says to do! For me though, I have to have something telling me that I need to run this day, and this day for this many miles, otherwise I’ll make 100,000 excuses why I can not go out and run. I bitch about having a schedule, but in reality, it works best for me.

      I don’t think having a schedule or not having a schedule makes you anymore of a runner than the next person. You lace your shoes the same way I lace mine, and you get out there and you get your run on. That makes you a runner. Going outside and running, not tacking a training schedule on your fridge.

      This is the first training plan that I’ve had double long runs. I am trying to stick to this schedule because I have a specific time goal in mind for this half, if it weren’t for that I’d just run shorter runs during the week and one long run on the weekend. My last half totally defeated me and I refuse to let that happen.

      I love smoothies, and I do make them sometimes. What do you put in yours? I usually use bananas, blueberries, milk and yogurt. I don’t know what else to put in them. Sometimes I use frozen peaches if I have them.

  3. First, you made it 7 miles on a treadmill…you’re doing good. I would have been laying at the end of the treadmill with a bruised body from flying off the treadmill and a eyes gouged out. Yuck!

    Can you find an indoor track somewhere? At a gym? Or maybe at a university near by? Otherwise…change up that plan woman, or you’ll go batshit crazy! There is something honorable about getting into a training plan and realizing that if you keep this up you will cut your own feet off – a change might be needed to keep going. Maybe keep 7 miles as the longest but make the shorter ones longer to keep the total miles up?

    As for fruits and veggies…umm…I lack them. The Husband things vegetables are spawns of the devil and his fruit intake is limited to oranges, apples and grapes (preferably prepared by me…). I need to make more smoothies, but I don’t like cleaning my big blender. I need a baby blender…

  4. Long runs (anything over about 5 miles in my thinking) just don’t happen on weekdays unless I have a day off work or I need to get a weekend run done during the week for some reason. I may need to re- think this if I start marathon training, but that’s a whole other subject.

    I think keeping 7 your highest during the week should be totally fine. I think it’s also about balancing what’s right for your personal life with training. Maybe you could achieve a bigger PR with more miles, but we’re not pro athletes, so how much training is needed and worth it?

    Obviously that’s a very individual question, and
    I’m just rambling about things I personally think about, but maybe it’s good food for thought.

    Fruits and veggies, I try to buy raw veggies like carrots, peppers, broccoli, etc to snack on at work. I also make big salads sometimes for lunch, and I eat a banana and/or apple pretty much daily. I also like fruit on yogurt or cottage cheese. Do I always get enough? No, but I do try to eat some fresh produce everyday and include at least some veggies in our supper each night too. Don’t stress, sounds like you’re actually doing pretty good 🙂

    • So I just re-read what I wrote and now have another comment. I don’t mean to say that training hard isn’t worth it, but you need balance. I don’t think a few extra weeknight miles will make or break it if you’re training well overall. Run your hard workouts hard, and make sure you’re long runs are where they need to be. But try not to stress too much, and also take care of your hip and don’t push it too hard until it’s 100%. Ok, I’m officially done rambling. If you can make sense of this gigantic stream of comments, you will for sure hit your time goal at Gasparilla and your half 😀

  5. Are you doing any exercises to strengthen your hip flexors? I have the same problem with my hips hurting but I notice that since I’ve started targeting them I feel a lot better on my runs. Oh and I’ll be completely honest and admit that I’m “training” for a half but don’t really follow a training schedule. I try to run 2-3 times a week but make sure Sundays I run long. I should try running mid week though because I really like to be lazy on Sundays.

    As for fruits and veggies, I think you should make smoothies! Try pairing fruits with similar texture/color veggies like strawberries, raspberries, and tomatoes? Haha this is just off the top of my head but I’m sure there are ton of recipes out there. Today I made a green monster with spinach, kale, raspberries, blue berries, strawberries, a banana, greek yogurt almond milk, ice and flax and although it looks like vomit, it tasted amazing and I think I got enough of my daily requirement just from that smoothie. Hope that helps!

    • No…::hangs head in shame:: You are the 2nd person this week to ask me if I’m doing hip flexor exercises.. I know that I should, and I’m sure it would help the situation. I forget. Ugh. Maybe I should put it in my phone on my calendar.

Say what you wanna say

