“what the hell is a redfish”

This is the comment Carolyn left me this morning regarding my delightful redfish catch last night.

Sometimes I wish I had a camera to record my reactions to various comments left on my blog. This one made me bust out laughing!

So, to answer your question Carolyn,

“Redfish is a common name for several species of fish. It is most commonly applied to members of the deep-sea genus Sebastes, or the reef dwelling snappers, Lutjanus. It is also applied to the slimeheads or roughies (family Trachichthyidae), and the alfonsinos (Berycidae). ”  (source)

So, did that about sum it up for ya? Ha, jk. That is a bunch of mumbo jumbo that I don’t even understand. I’ll just show you pictures instead, that is more fun, and requires no thinking on my part. kaythanks.

 source

This is my Dad with a good sized Redfish. He was out with Joel, (FishDaddyCharter.com

Redfish have spots on their tails, which my dad just happens to be covering up. Depending on where they are caught they can have a brownish color, or a deep reddish/orange color.

There are a lot more pictures of Redfish on the Fishdaddy website, but I don’t feel right about posting pictures of other people I don’t even know. creeper.

Here is Chris with Capt. Joel when we went out with him last year. That is a trout, not a redfish, don’t get it confused. =)

Happy Monday Ya’ll

2 thoughts on ““what the hell is a redfish”

Say what you wanna say

