Hermit Crab!

I’m pretty excited about our Christmas tree! It’s so pretty!

So,  I didn’t get a work out in today. Oh well. I came home and started dinner pretty much as soon as I walked in the door. Tomorrow’s run is supposed to be a tempo run, but since my knee was all twingy yesterday I think I’ll skip the tempo part and just do a regular 5 miles. Wow, 5 miles seems really far for a morning time run. Not sure how that is going to pan out. Don’t worry, I’ll report back on whether or not that 5 miles happens.

I found a new recipe on Allrecipes.

Sausage, Peppers, Onions, and Potato Bake

Ingredients

  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 2 pounds Italian sausage links, cut into 2-inch pieces
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 4 large potatoes, peeled and thickly sliced
  • 2 large green bell peppers, seeded and cut into wedges
  • 2 large red bell peppers, seeded and cut into wedges
  • 3 large onions, cut into wedges
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 1/2 cup chicken stock
  • 1 teaspoon Italian seasoning
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C).
  2. Heat 2 teaspoons olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat, and cook and stir the sausage until browned. Transfer the cooked sausage to a large baking dish. Pour 1/4 cup of olive oil into the skillet, and cook the potatoes, stirring occasionally, until browned, about 10 minutes. Place the potatoes into the baking dish, leaving some oil. Cook and stir the green and red peppers and onions in the hot skillet until they are beginning to soften, about 5 minutes. Add the vegetables to the baking dish. Pour wine and chicken stock over the vegetables and sausage, and sprinkle with Italian seasoning, salt, and pepper. Gently stir the sausage, potatoes, and vegetables together.
  3. Bake in the preheated oven until hot and bubbling, 20 to 25 minutes. Serve hot.

a little bit of sausage

plus potatoes

+ onions & peppers

= sausage, onion, peppers & potato bake! Mmm mm Good

Edit: I forgot to tell you what I thought of this recipe, because I know you really care. First of all, it was more work then I care for right now. I had to cut up everything. Sausauge, potatoes, onions, and peppers. I’m not a really great multi tasker in the kitchen and this recipe took all my attention and then some.  I think it would be a good weekend recipe, or probably a good weekday recipe when I’m not so bogged down with homework.  Plus, I don’t love recipes w/  a lot of dicing and slicing. I’m scared I’m going to cut my finger off.

Taste wise: Chris thought it was “slammin’ ” I thought it was okay. I didn’t really care for the potatoes. Next time I will use red potatoes cut into quarters. I think they would work out better. I used regular potatoes and they didn’t cook as much as I would have liked. Chris likes raw potatoes {cuz he’s weird like that} so these potatoes were great for him. The sausage was delish, and apparently I loved sauted, then baked onions because even those were quite delicious!

This will make an appearance again in the LIBK household, but with red potatoes.

Good Night Ya’ll- Onto conquer my next class!

2 thoughts on “

  1. I don’t do well with labor intensive weekday meals either. By the time I get home from work, I usually just want to eat leftovers and veg.

    So did you get your morning 5 miles in?

    • Nope, i stayed in bed. lame. Chris didn’t have to get up as early this morning so that led to me not getting up either. It was nice. It was windy and cold(er) this morning…I do plan on getting that run in tonight when I get off. Might have to tough it out on the treadmill.

Say what you wanna say

