Who are you?

My friend Carolyn posted this week about her structured training schedule, and the lists in her life. During a recent talk w/ her I admired her “structuredness” and my wishes to be like that. I “like” lists, I use them for grocery shopping & work things. Other then that I don’t use a list. I don’t have a list of things I with to do with my life. I mean, I do, but it’s not written down. It’s in my head, and it’s not a concrete list, it’s just ideas I guess.

Anyways, she says she is “totally type A”… I’ll be honest, I have no idea about type A, B, C, or D personalities. Jk, I know there are only Type A or Type B. I just don’t know which is which. With a quick google search I found a “personality quiz”.. I took the quiz. It was hard, yah, hard. Some of the questions I couldn’t decide if I as A or B. I feel like I am both sometimes. So I answered what I am more times then not.

Here is what the personality quiz says about me:

INFPs represent between 4 and 5% of the U.S. population

INFPs value inner harmony above all else. Sensitive, idealistic, and loyal, they have a strong sense of honor concerning their personal values and are often passionately committed to making sure their beliefs and actions are congruent. INFPs are also extremely perceptive about people. They value their uniqueness and typically seek unconventional ways of doing things. Sensitive and empathetic, INFPs tend to be exceptionally adept at reading between the lines. Although they demonstrate cool reserve on the outside, INFPs care deeply inside.

They are compassionate, sympathetic, understanding and very sensitive to the feelings of others. They avoid conflict and are not interested in impressing or dominating others unless their values are at stake. INFPs seldom express the intensity of their feelings and often appear reticent and calm. However, once they know you, they are enthusiastic and warm. Feeling truly understood and respected for their unique perspective and strong values is important for many INFPs.

 

So, I’m reading this description, and it seems pretty accurate. I hate conflict, I rarely will argue w/ anyone {unless your name is Chris and your my husband, then I’ll argue till death do us part!}  While I was taking the quiz there were questions that asked if I was outgoing, or in what situations I felt comfortable. These were the questions that were the trickiest. I can be pretty quiet if I don’t know you. I am pretty reserved and I’m not really a big conversation starter.  Read the last two sentences of “my” personality, “However, once they know you, they are enthusiastic and warm. Feeling truly understood and respected for their unique perspective and strong values is important for many INFPs.”   I think that pretty much sums it up for me. I think in my little circle of family & friends, I am loud and outspoken. I enjoy spending time with my friends, and I will talk about argumentative topics {if I know anything about it, or have something to say about it}.

Well, now I’m obsessed w/ this Type A or Type B thing {which type is obsesseive?} I took another quiz, and it says this:

You seem to be in the middle between the Type A and Type B personality. In this case, the middle ground is good. Your attitude to life is more of the “smell the roses” kind and you know how and when to relax. Nonetheless, you realize that picking up a challenge and competing a little bit for your place in the sun can add some spice to your life. The equilibrium is important, so don’t let your hostile, aggressive, and competitive alter ego take over too often. Generally, you are easy to be around, and people tend to feel relaxed and comfortable in your presence. Yours is a very healthy attitude towards life.

 

These results don’t make me feel one way or another about myself. I am who I am. I don’t wish to be something else {besides richer}. I am at an okay place in my life with who I am. Could I better some things about myself? Uhm, of course. Who can’t? If you say you, your lying. No one is perfect, not even Chris, even if he tries to convince you other wise =P

__

Last night I didn’t run {yah yah, shame on me}. I was so cranky when I got home, I didn’t feel like cooking much less running. In reality, I should have ran, that might have relieved some stress. Oh well, woulda, coulda, shoulda! Tonight is not looking good either. I am going to get my hair done as soon as I leave work. I won’t get home till probably around 9, plus I’m running a 5k w/ Carolyn tomorrow so I need to be nice and rested so I can run fast!

Have a Happy Friday!

One thought on “Who are you?

  1. You crack me up! I don’t want to be something I don’t want to be either. So I should have said, “so type A of me,” instead of “I’m type A.”

    Either way, type A apparently is competitive…. and tomorrow, we are going to run FAST. Actually, you will probably run fast, and I’ll just try to keep up. Do you have a plan (here I go again!) about what splits you want for each mile.

    I crack myself up. Really, a plan? Seriously? And yes, sadly I calculated one out this morning. HA HA HA

Say what you wanna say

