Reading

Reading, reading, reading; My life consists of tons of reading. At any given moment during my work day I have atleast 4 internet explorer windows open. Why? You ask, because i’m a freakin’ reading-aholic. My job requires a lot of reading and research. I am constantl on the Medicare website to see if we can bill this, or bill that. Can the two be billed together, will this modifier go with that. Seriously, medical billing is a complicated matter, and it’s only getting more complicated as the months go on. 2011 is going to be a nasty year for the medical field I believe. I attend monthly luncheons, which entail more reading. These luncheons provide office managers & billers with details of what is going on the medical world of Medicare & Hipaa. It’s a scary world we live in.

I think for the most part your average person has no idea what goes on behind the scenes in a medical office. The hoops that Doctors have to jump through, the documentation that is needed to get paid a measly $70 for an office visit that took an hour. Yah, not kidding.

I spend a lot of time reading how to get my Dr paid. It’s a tricky game, and there is such a fine line its scary. I mean really. Google Medicare Audits, or just pay attention to your local news. See how many providers are being audited by Medicare. See how much money providers are having to pay back to Medicare because something wasn’t done right, ie: documentation, and now Medicare is taking back thousands, and thousands of dollars.

I am currently in school for Medical Billing & Coding. You know what sucks, I am learning things that are going to be totally irrelevant come 2013. Seriously, stupid. I’m spending money to learn codes that are going to go away in 3 years. Great, huh? We can kiss ICD-9 goodbye, and say hello to the ever so-complicated world of ICD-10 .. I know, for most of the people that read my blog you have no idea what I’m talking about. What it boils down to is that I’m spending money on training that isn’t going to do me any good by January 2013. There is nothing I can do however, for now I have to know these ICD-9 codes in order to get my certification. Stupid. It’s just stupid.

I have been sitting here since 12:30 researching guidelines, and documentation for various codes, and modifiers. It’s 3pm right now.  I’ve been in my current position for 3 months and it’s been a learning experience for sure. I have learned so much in the last 3 months it’s amazing. I feel like a sponge. I’m just absorbing as much as I can, and hoping my experience and knowledge will benefit me in the future.

Back to work. My day is not complete yet, I still have several patients to code out. Woohoo!

One thought on “Reading

  1. I don’t think I could do what you do. I don’t know too much about it, but I did take a business seminar class in healthcare administration my last semester of college. We learned a bit of background and mainly had a lot of discussion on healthcare policy. I still remember learning about ICD-9 and cringing! Hope you are able to finish up your class soon.

Say what you wanna say

