Sometimes, life is ridiculously unfair.

I am taking the day off from running. My right knee has been kind of sore today, my left hip was bothering me. My run yesterday was faster then I’ve been running, I pushed kinda hard.  I need to do homework tonight anyways, so it works out.

__

A few weeks ago I wrote about the two Tampa Police Officers that were killed in the line of duty, Officer Kocab, and Officer Curtis. Officer Kocab’s wife was 9mths pregnant when he was shot and killed. Today she delivered a stillborn baby. As if her life wasn’t already sad enough. I mean seriously? Sometimes life is just ridiculously unfair. According to the article the Kocab’s new their daughter could potentially be stillborn. I doubt that makes this any easier. With in a matter of weeks Sara Kocab lost her husband and her baby. I’m sure Officer Kocab is holding his newborn baby girl up in heaven tonight. It’s just heartbreaking isn’t it? I can not imagine what she is going through. I hope Mrs. Kocab knows how many people are praying for her, and thinking about her every minute, of every hour, of every day. —I ordered on of these t-shirts today.

__

Enough sadness, I’ve been thinking about this ever since I heard about it this afternoon.

Onto something different. Tonight for dinner I made another new recipe, Shrimp Creole, it was pretty tasty!

Shrimp Creole:

2 tablespoons olive oil
1 1/2 cups chopped green bell pepper
1 medium onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1 cup uncooked rice
1 can (14oz) diced tomatoes, drained & juice reserved
1 teaspoon dried oregano leaves
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme leaves
2 teaspoons hot pepper sauce, or to taste black pepper
1 pound raw medium shrimp, peeled & deveined
1 tablespoon chopped fresh parsley (optional)

1. Preheat overn to 325*F. Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add bell pepper, onion, celery and garlic; cook and stir 5 minutes or until veggies are soft

2. Add rice; cook and stir for 5 minutes over medium heat until rice is opaque. Add tomatoes, oregano, salt, thyme, hot sauce, and black pepper to skillet; stir until blended. Pour reserved tomato juice into measuring cup. Add enough water to measure 1 3/4 cups liquid; add to skillet. Cook & stir 2 minutes.

3. Transfer mixture to 2 1/2 qt casserole. Stir in shrimp. Bake, covered, 55 minutes or until rice is tender and liquid is absorbed. Sprinkle w/ fresh parsley if desired.– Makes 4-6 servings.

This meal was totally delish. I added hot sauce, to much hot sauce, so it was really kind of  hot. But Chris likes hot so he liked it! It was really easy to make! We will def make it again! Next time I want to put chopped pineapple in it, I think that would be awesomeness!! some sweet with all that spicy, mm mm good!

_____

Blackbean casserole – from yesterday:

Prep: 25 min
Oven: 350*F
Bake: 30 Mmin
Makes: 8 main-dish servings

2 cups chopped onion (2 large)  I used 1 onion, it was fine
1 1/2 cups chopped green sweet pepper (2 medium)  I used a piece of a green pepper, i’m not a huge fan
1 (14oz) can tomatoes, un drained & cut up — I used diced tomatoes w/ green chilies
3/4 cup picante sauce or green salsa
2 tsp ground cumin
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 (15oz) cans of black beans and/or red kidney beans rinsed & drained (i ended up using 3 cans of black beans, 2 wasn’t enough)
12 6-inch corn tortillas
8 oz shredded Monterey Jack cheese
2 medium tomatoes (optional)
2 cups shredded lettuce (optional)
sliced green onions (optional)
sliced pitted ripe olives (optional)
1/2 cup dairy sour cream or plain low-fat yogurt (optional)        I didn’t use any of the optional stuff and it was still delish!

1. In a large skillet combine onion, sweet pepper, undrained tomatoes, picante sauce, cumin and garlic. Bring to boiling; reduce heat. Simmer, uncovered for 10 min. Stir in beans.

2. Spread one-third of the bean mixture over the bottom of a 3 quart rectangular baking dish. Top with 6 of the tortillas, overlapping as necessary, and 1 cup of the cheese. Add another one-third of the bean mixture; top with remaining 6 tortillas and remaining bean mixture.

3. Bake, covered, in a 350*F oven 30-35 minutes or until heated through. Sprinkle with remaining 1 cup of cheese. Let stand 10 minutes before serving. If desired top with tomatoes, lettuce, onions, and olives and serve with sour cream.

MM MM Good! This was also a great dish.. After a bunch of complaining that there was no meat I think I’ll add some sausage or ground turkey next time.. It was very tasty just the way it was though! There wasn’t much left overs..so that should tell you something!

_________

I’ll leave you with a funny video of my niece Maia.

Say what you wanna say

