Focusing on my hips.

I picked up the new issue of Fitness, http://www.fitnessmagazine.com/. I was kind of scared that it would be kind of hoakey and suggest all sorts of crazy detox/cleanses & have silly articles. I am pleasantly surprised with the content..well I haven’t read the whole thing yet, but I’m a good ways through it.

I have heard and read a lot about that fact that weak hips can cause knee injuries, which can lead to other injuries. Fitness has an article regarding this exact issue. I can’t find the article on the magazine website, but it’s called Double Jeopardy  They suggest this site http://www.runninginjuryclinic.com/ to find some hip strengthening exercises. Very informative article. I am encouraged to work on my hip strength, especially with the knee pain that I have been having lately.

Today I ran 3mi , 29:48.  No knee pain. My shins were killing me for about a mile, the pain eventually went away. The whole time they were hurting I was thinking, great, I hope I don’t have shin splints. That article Double Jeopardy kind of made me paranoid. I obviously don’t want to injure myself, and I really don’t want to injure myself because I didn’t take care of a previous injury. I also did 2 sets of 20 push ups right after my run. I came home and did side leg lifts 3 sets of 15 ; cancan cross (exercise I saw in fitness magazine) 2 sets of 10; bridge leg lift 1 set of 15 (this one hurt my right hamstring, its feeling kind of tight).

Breakfast: Blueberry Special K with 1% milk

Lunch: left over spaghetti

Snacks: pretzels, Chobani pomegranate greek yogurt (FAIL, ew I don’t like pomegranate apparently), banana, string cheese…

Dinner: Crunchy Ranch Chicken, Yum!


Crunchy Ranch Chicken

4-5 chicken breast
1 envelope Hidden Valley Ranch powder
1 cup Parmesan cheese
1 cup of corn flakes crushed ( I used Special K…its what I had)
1 egg

Preheat over to 350*

1. Mix Hidden valley ranch powder, Parmesan cheese, and corn flakes in a bowl
2. Cover a baking pan with aluminum foil, spray lightly with cooking spray
3. cover chicken in egg then cover chicken with the corn flake mixture
4. place chicken on covered baking pan

Cook for 30-35 minutes.

This was delish! Had a really great flavor!

Say what you wanna say

